Village of New Hyde Park Today

The real property tax is the primary source of income for village governmental activities. Nassau County’s 64 incorporated villages vary enormously in size and the scope of services they provide to their constituents. These services may include basic public works activities such as snow removal and street repair, street lighting, water, sewers, sewage disposal, garbage/refuse collection and disposal, parks, recreation, planning, zoning, regulation of building construction, licensing of trades/occupations, courts, police, fire protection, emergency medical services, franchises (e.g. cable television) and utilities.

Village business is conducted at regularly scheduled Board Meetings (held on the first and third Tuesday’s of each month, except during the summer) or specially convened meetings which are open to the public. Proposed village legislation called local laws must be presented to the public at duly advertised public hearings.